Race Sponsors

Saffron Auto's Logo Kestrel Logo Newdales Logo  Yak Yac Logo  Pete Thompson Personal Trainer

Signing-up to a few races certainly focusses the mind

It's that time of year when I start to realise that my winter training has been far less than planned - mainly a lack of cycling - (time in the garage on the turbo just isn't the same as going out and enjoying the countryside) - but it is noticeable that the days are getting longer which gives us more time to train outdoors in daylight. Signing-up to a few races certainly focusses the mind though, and I had a nice 11 mile run on Saturday, which was chilly but sunny, and then on Sunday afternoon do 25 freezing miles on the bike, after which I needed a pint of hot chocolate to warm up. However, this weekend looks like being milder, so I'm hoping to make the most of it and get a longer bike ride.

This Saturday (20th) is our next group park run in Hatfield forest, near Stansted airport. If you are planning to go please let me know and we can meet at the shell house car park at around 8.30, or of you'd like a lift I will be leaving Saffron Walden around 8.00. Last time there were almost 180 runners and that made for a really good atmosphere - it's a great way to start the weekend.

You can now email me on clubcaptain@waldentri.co.uk

May Day Tri update: 139 individuals plus 7 relays teams have signed-up so far.

The race season will soon be here, and below are some local races in first half of the year that might interest you. If you have entered any of these (or intend to) let me know, as it would be good to make them club outings:

  • Sunday, February 21 Anglian water duathlon
  • Sunday, February 21,Velopark duathlon
  • Saturday, March 5, Dambuster duathlon
  • Sunday, March 13, Bedford autodrome duathlon
  • Sunday, April 10, Haverhill festival of running
  • Sunday, April 10, Flitch Way 10k
  • Sunday, April 24, Gt Notley Duathlon
  • Sunday, May 1, Walden Triathlon
  • Monday 2nd May, Ashdon 10k
  • Saturday, May 7, Infinity aquathlon Chelmsford
  • Sunday, May 8, St Neots tri
  • Saturday, May 14, Waterbeach running festival
  • Sunday, May 15, Flitch marathon
  • Sunday, May 15, Newmarket triathlon
  • Sunday, May 22, Grafman
  • Saturday, June 18, Bury St Eds aquathlon
  • Saturday, June 18, Harwich triathlon
  • Sunday, June 19, Bury St Eds triathlon
  • Sunday, June 19, Sudbury tri
  • Sunday, June 26, St Neots tri